What happens when you turn off the iCloud music library?

Apple is a company that has been on the top for many years. The main reasons for this are the creation of high-quality products and a well-developed system of interaction between them.

What happens when you turn off  the iCloud music library?

Try it free

Of course, the main place in Apple’s ecosystem is occupied by the iCloud platform. It assists consumers with storing, copying, and synchronizing information.

If you consider a music library from Apple Music, it is worth mentioning that iCloud enables you to access it from more than 10 devices. For example, it could be two phones (business and personal use, desktop computer, laptop, and iPad). All devices should be produced by the Apple brand. Pretty convenient, isn’t it?

However, in recent times users have often discussed on forums some problems with this attractive feature. The main ones are:

  • lack of album covers;
  • mixed up album covers;
  • incorrect metadata generated by the synchronization;
  • deletion of some tracks;
  • substituting one version of a track for another.

Of course, the developers try to fix all these drawbacks. But, so far it hasn’t happened, so many users are thinking, “What happens when you turn off the iCloud music library?

In fact, everything is very simple. Once you decide to turn off syncing all your content, history search and saved tracks will become unavailable on other devices. This can be a disadvantage as well as an advantage. Therefore, if you do want to disable this feature, follow the instructions:

  • go to your gadget’s settings;
  • scroll through the menu and find the Music section;
  • in this section deactivate Library Sync by pressing the toggle (the device will warn you about losing content but you should just accept this term and disable the synchronization).

These instructions work for iPhones and iPads. On other devices, the procedure may be slightly different.

By the way, if you want to opt out of synchronizing your photos or videos, it’s quite easy to do. You have to find the photos section in the settings and make some changes there. Just move the content synchronization toggle to the inactive position.

Moreover, it’s worth mentioning that iCloud sync is enabled on all Apple devices by default. So, it’s up to you to decide whether to leave it on or turn it off. But if you’re planning to transfer all your important music data from Apple Music to any other streaming service, there’s no point in it.

Try it free

We recommend you use the special Musconv application to quickly migrate to any streaming service. This software will transfer all your files in a couple of minutes, despite the encryption. Try something new right now and you won’t regret your decision.