social

Will iTunes delete my music if I sync it?

Do you want to sync your music files but are afraid that all the information might disappear? Or have you copied your music once before but by some unknown mistake, it’s lost forever from your device?

Will iTunes delete my music if I sync it?

Try it free

So, if from time to time the question “Will iTunes delete my music if I sync it?” arises in your mind, then the answer is, yes. Unless you are familiar with the details of this process if you will read this article then you can be sure that your data will not be lost.

First, you should know that syncing is copying your data from iTunes on your computer to your iPhone. During this process, your photos, videos, and in particular your music content are overwritten. Syncing is usually used to move significant information from your iTunes library, where all your data is stored, to your iPhone. Therefore, some users worry that during the transfer of information, all the music could be lost.

Actually, your iPhone works with iTunes in sync mode. So, every time you sync your device with it, it copies the information you have selected in the library to your device. However, if your PC does not have songs in its library, and you sync it, you might lose all your music files stored on your device.

But remember, if you really wish to move the files that you have bought directly from the special iTunes store, then the app will send you a notification that the music content, which you aim to sync, hasn’t moved to your own library. To prevent a loss of information, follow the steps below.

  1. If you wish to back up without automatically syncing, first go to the Preferences tab in the appropriate menu, then you have to find the Devices category and select the button of prevention your Apple devices from automatically synchronization;
  2. Moreover, it is possible to do the following steps. To manually sync, just connect your gadget to the PC you need to sync your music with, start iTunes, and search for your iPhone in the Devices category. Then move to the Summary menu, select manual managing of music and videos, and confirm your action. After that, you should go to the Music tab in your library, select the songs you want, and drag and drop them onto the iPhone icon on the left corner of the app interface. In the end, just click the Eject button.

Try it free

This way, when syncing manually, you may transfer the needed music files to another device without losing them. But if you need to transfer your favorite songs, playlists, or even music videos from one music streaming service to another, then you should use MusConv, which will help you transfer any music content to more than 50 platforms quickly and easily without losing any data.